## The First IEEE Symposium on Artificial Life IEEE-ALife'07 April 1-5, 2007, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

The objective of IEEE-Alife'07 was to bring together researchers working on the emerging areas of Artificial Life and Complex Adaptive Systems. In particular, the symposium focuses on soft, wet and hard Artificial Life. The symposium is the first in a bi-annual series and will alternate with the International Conference on Artificial Life with the IEEE Symposium running in odd years and the International Conference running in even years. The symposium attracted 102 high quality submissions out of which 60 papers were selected for oral and poster presentations. IEEE-ALife witnessed two invited speakers: Steen Rasmussen and Lee Altenberg.

We wish to thank Dr. David Fogel, the general chair of IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence for his marvellous organization skills and full cooperation. We wish also to thank Dr. Garry Greenwood who did a wonderful job with the conference proceedings, and Dr. Chrystopher L. Nehaniv for his excellent work with the promotion of the conference as the publicity chair.

The quality of this event would not have been possible without our world class program committee. We wish to acknowledge the following members of this committee and the additional reviewers who rescued us to maintain a reasonable load on the program committee:

Andy Adamatzky, Sameer Alam, Andreas Albrecht, Takaya Arita, Minoru Asada, Jennifer Badham, Randall Beer, Axel Bender, Rene te Boekhorst, Terry Bossomaier, Simon Bovet, Juergen Branke, Lam Bui, Martin Butz, Angelo Cangelosi, David Cornforth, Huong Hai Dam, Kerstin Dautenhahn, Antonio Della Cioppa, Ralf Der, Marco Dorigo, Alan Dorin, Hai-Bin Duan, Sondoss El-Sawah, Dario Floreano, David Fogel, Takashi Gomi, David Green, Gregory Hornby, Alfred Hubler, Takashi Ikegami, Christian Jacob, Graham Kendall, Jan T. Kim, Jong-Hwan Kim, Tim Kovacs, Kristian Lindgren, Xavier Llorà, Vittorio Loreto, Alcherio Martinoli, Bob McKay, Peter McOwan, Naoki Mori, Amiram Moshaiov, Akira Namatame, Chrystopher L. Nehaniv, Thomas Netter, Minh Ha Nguyen, Frank Pasemann, Rolf Pfeifer, Daniel Polani, Hiroki Sayama, Kamran Shafi, Russell Standish, Robert Stocker, Masanori Sugisaka, Kay Chen Tan, Richard Tateson, Jun Tani, Charles Taylor, Jason Teo, Guy Theraulaz, Peter Todd, Kazuto Tominaga, Edgar Vallejo, Ang Yang, Tom Ziemke

Hussein A. Abbass, Mark Bedau, Stefano Nolfi, and Janet Wiles Technical Co-chairs