Welcome to CIISP 2007 and Honolulu

On behalf of the Organizing Committee and the Program Committee, it is our humble pleasure to invite/welcome you to Honolulu and to the inaugural IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence for Image and Signal Processing (CIISP 2007). We consider ourselves fortunate to have had the opportunity to organize the first CIISP and offer you a taste of Hawaiian hospitality.

We are thrilled to see that the first CIISP drew 120 paper submissions, one of the largest in the symposium series, which enabled us to put together a rich in content and high-quality technical program spanning four days of 16 lecture and one poster sessions, representing the technical activities in our community. In the program are included two special sessions.

On the day before the symposium starts, we offer three high quality tutorials on several important aspects of intelligent image and signal processing. The symposium features a keynote speech offered by our distinguished speaker, Professor Bernard Widrow of Stanford University on "Cognitive Memory and Pattern Recognition".

We want to share with you our gratitude towards members of the organizing committee (Professor Liang Chen, Professor Ponnuthurai Nagaratnam Suganthan and Professor Ivan Lee), all members of the program committee and the reviewers for their dedication to the success of CIISP 2007. Working like one person for a common goal in the demanding task of CIISP organization made us proud that we got involved in this effort. For this, we thank them all.

We would like to invite you to visit Honolulu, your first time with CIISP, especially at this time of the year when nature is welcoming everybody, and enjoy both the rich technical program and the endless opportunities to explore the place and the culture. We hope your stay here will be both rewarding and memorable.

Ling Guan, Kaoru Hirota CIISP 2007 Symposium Co-Chairs

Advisory Committee

Bernie Widrow, Stanford University, USA

Shun-ichi Amari, RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan

Sun-Yuan Kung, Princeton University, USA

Tas Venetsanopoulos, Ryerson University, Canada

Terry Caelli, NICTA, Australia

Toshio Fukuda, Nagoya University, Japan

Organizing Committee

Co-Chairs: Ling Guan, Ryerson University, Canada Kaoru Hirota, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Publicity Chair: Liang Chen, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada

Publication Chair: Ponnuthurai Suganthan, NTU, Singapore

Web Chair: Ivan Lee, Ryerson University, Canada

Program Committee

Adam Krzyzak, Concordia University, Canada Adel M. Alimi, University of Sfax, Tunisia Aishy Amer, Concordia University, Canada Anca Ralescu, University of Cincinnati, USA Ang Yang, University of New South Wales, Australia Aurelio Campilho, Universidade do Porto, Portugal Aurelio Fernandez, University Rovira i Virgili, Spain Bao-Liang Lu, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China Bernard De Baets, Ghent University, Belgium Bob Dony, University of Guelph, Canada Brian Lovell, The University of Queensland, Australia Bruno Di Stefano, Nuptek Systems Ltd, Canada Chandan Reddy, Cornell University, USA Chang-Shing Lee, National University of Tainan, Taiwan Chang-Tsun Li, University of Warwick, UK Chang-Wook Han, Yeungnam University, Korea Chih Cheng Hung, Southern Polytechnic State University, USA Daniel Ashlock, University of Guelph, Canada David Casperson, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada Dimitri Androutsos, Ryerson University, Canada Eiji Uchino, Yamaguchi University, Japan Fangyan Dong, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan Gancho Vachkov, Kagawa University, Japan Gerald Schaefer, Aston University, UK Hajime Nobuhara, University of Tsukuba, Japan Hashiyama Tomonori, University of Electro-Communications, Japan Hau-Sun Wong, City University, Hong Kong Heikki Koivo, HUT, Finland Heitor S. Lopes, CEFET-PR / CPGEI, Brazil Howard Leung, City University, Hong Kong Ichihashi Hidetomo, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan Ivan Lee, Ryerson University, Canada Jagath Samarabandu, University of Western Ontario, Canada Janqiang Yi, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China Jelel Ezzine, Ecole Nationale d'Ingnieurs de Tunis, Tunisia Jiann-Shu Lee, National University of Tainan, Taiwan

Jin-Shiuh Taur, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan Jin-Woo Jung, KAIST, Korea Jonathan Randall, University of Sydney, Australia Jose Alfredo F. Costa, Federal University, UFRN, Brazil Jyh-Yeong Chang, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan Kay Chen Tan, NUS, Singapore Kazuhiko Kawamoto, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan Kenneth Lam, Hong Kong Polytechnical University, Hong Kong Kevin Wong, Murdoch University, Australia Kim-Hui Yap, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Kotropoulos Costas, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece Liang Chen, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada Man Wai MAK, Polytechnic University, Hong Kong Matthew Kyan, University of Sydney, Australia Mattias Wahde, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden Mike Nachtegael, Ghent University, Belgium Mohamed Kamel, University of Waterloo, Canada Chong Wah Ngo, City University, Hong Kong Nedeljko Cvejic, University of Bristol, UK Ong Yew Soon, NTU, Singapore Paisarn Munessawang, Naresuan University, Thailand Plamen Angelov, Lancaster University, UK Ponnuthurai Suganthan, NTU, Singapore Qigang Gao, Dahousie University, Canada Rachel Jiang, Ryerson University, Canada Siwei Lu, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada Sri Krishnan, Ryerson University, Canada Stuart W. Perry, Canon Research Australia Subhas Mukhopadhyay, Massey University, NZ Suhuai Luo, University of New Castle, Australia Sungshin Kim, Pusan National University, Korea Syoji Kobashi, University of Hyogo, Japan Tien Bui, Concordia University, Canada Toshinori Munakata, Cleveland State University, USA U S Tiwary, Indian institute of Information Technology, India

Wanqing Li, University of Wollongong, Australia Wanquan Li, Curtin University of Technology, Australia Wen-Yang Lin, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan Xiao-Ping Zhang, Ryerson University, Canada Xuelong Li, University of London, United Kingdom Yasufumi TAKAMA, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan You Jia Jane, Polytechnic University, Hong Kong Yutaka Hatakeyama, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan